SA Bream Classic May 2007 Results

Wild weather greeted competitors for the 2007 Adelaide Bream Classic.
The wind and rain did not deter the forty anglers in teams of two and
many came away with a rewarding experience.

Wild weather greeted competitors for the 2007 Adelaide Bream Classic.
The wind and rain did not deter the forty anglers in teams of two and
many came away with a rewarding experience.

On day one, wild water greeted the anglers through-out the Port
River system with the wind whipping up a major swell and chop
throughout the waterway. Many of the competitors found the going tough
and a few struggled to find fish by midday. By the end of the day, 15
teams had captured bream with a legal fork length of 28cms. Team
Bassday led the way with 5 fish for 4.2kg with Blue Lip Wranglers
second with 5 fish for 3.45kg. In close third were Team Ray + Annes
with 5 fish for 3.50kg. Steve Palin of team Broken Arrow captured a
850g fish to establish day-one’s Big Bream benchmark.

Adam Todd and Steve Evangelou of Team Bassday were unstoppable on
day 2 with another 5 fish bag limit. The boys used 2’’ Gulp Shrimps in
molt colour and Bassdays Kangoku hard bodied lures to amass their two
day ten fish. The boys were overall winners with a 7.45kg total bag for
10 fish. For this effort they snared $500.00 cash plus two pairs of
Ugly Fish Sunglasses pack plus $50.00 voucher from Home of the
Fisherman. Adam also took out big bream of 1.1kg which he caught on a
Kangoku hard body in colour F.G.24. This catch got him the Big Bream
prize of a 65lt fibreglass esky containing lures and assorted tackle
from Todds Tackle including $100.00 cash and $100.00 voucher from
Adelaide Outboard Tackle. In second place were Team Ray + Annes,
anglers Tom Hahn and Brian Jonsen finished with a Ten fish bag of
6.10kg. Taking third place were Tom Deer and Stuart Braund of Team
Supreme printers with 9 fish for 5.10kg.

All competitors received a bonus prize pack before the event thanks
to Kym Sykes of Tackle World. Over $4000 worth of product donated by
Daiwa, Shimano, Berkley, Storm, Okuma, Stimulate, Shakespeare and
Gillies were distributed for the teams to use during the event. Arthur
Mader from the Anglers Choice Tackle Store located at Christies Beach
provided the Marshall boat for both the Tournament Director and the
film crew. Channel 31 filmed the event as part of their pilot episodes
for the production of Fishing South Australia. The boys shot enough
footage to produce a DVD on the 2007 Bream Classic.

No teams at the South Australian Classic were left empty-handed.
Further sponsorship giveaways included gift packs of $50 vouchers from
Home of the Fisherman or Taylor Marine with a collection of line, hats
and knot tying books from Platypus. Marz Lures, Mudeye Lures and S.A.
Bait and Tackle also donated various lures to the prize pack. Four
Mystery Prize draws consisted of Tica rods and reels, fishing tackle,
vouchers and a huge tackle bag of assorted products by Tackle World
were also well received by the competitors.

I would like to thank all our sponsors for this event whom are as
follows; Platypus; Ugly Fish; Marz Lures; Mudeye Lures; Outermark;
TackleWorld; Home of The Fisherman; Taylor Marine; Todds Tackle;
Adelaide Outboard Tackle; and Arthur Mader of Anglers Choice for his
marshalling duties. Next years Classic events are to be staged during
‘big fish’ time of April 2008. With continuing sponsorship, the ABT SA
Classic events are assured a promising future.


Place Team Angler 1 Angler 2 Fish Weight kg BB kg

1 Team Bassday Adam Todd Steve Evangelou 10 7.45 1.1

2 Team Ray + Anne Tom Hahn Brain Jonsen 10 6.1

3 Supreme Printers Tom Deer Stuart Braund 9 5.1

4 Kool Fishing Darryl Kelcey Shane Nuske 7 4.25

5 Bluelip Wranglers Lee Williams Andrew Donhardt 5 3.45

6 Team Chubby Grahm Whibley Andy Douglas 3.2

7 Wirth Rods Greg Wirth Hugh Wirth 6 3.15

8 Team Tackle World Kym Sykes Cory Kirkland 6 3.1

9 Team Thrillseeker Craig Stowers Andy Gray 5 2.95

10 Team Pacific Marine Ken Thompson Wade Earhill 3 1.9

11 Sport Fishing Scene Alex Dafov Clift 3 1.71

12 Team Broken Arrow Steve Palin Phil DeGroot 3 1.6

13 Team I.C.C.C. Bronte Kent Dion Johnson 2 1

14 Team Spot on Tony Woolman Steve Flynn 1 0.6

15 Team Banana Nick Glenn Peter Glenn 1 0.6

16 Team Stolcman Danny Stolecman Paul Stolcman 1 0.45

17 Adelaide Outboard Tackle Craig Ellis E. Fernandez 1 0.4
18 Hot Fish Michael Lester Martin Cottam

19 Team Hytek Rob Johnson Neil Kromer

20 Pacific Tica Joe Gorham Garry Worrall -0.5